Ireland face England in last eight of European Amateur Team Championships

John Ross Galbraith (Ulster) finished with 5.5pts for Ulster in the Interprovincial Championships
John Ross Galbraith (Ulster) finished with 5.5pts for Ulster in the Interprovincial Championships

Ireland will play England today in the quarter-final of the European Amateur Team Championships in Sweden.

Paul Dunne and Gary Hurley paved the way for Ireland.

Dunne’s second round 68, the joint low round of the day, combined with Hurley’s 69 left Ireland on six under in the team event as Germany finished five shots clear.

“I’m very happy to take second but it’s only half-time,” said Irish captain Tony Goode.

“The hard work starts tomorrow.”

On a difficult afternoon at Halmstad, which was engulfed with heavy showers, Jack Hume carded a second round 77 to drop out of the running for individual honours.

Cormac Sharvin carded a 76 although Ballymena’s Dermot McElroy came through the conditions with a fine 72.

Gavin Moynihan carded a 74, which was needed for the team score when Sharvin and Hume struggled in the afternoon.

Moynihan will partner Hume in the first of tomorrow morning’s foursomes.

Cormac Sharvin will team up with Dermot McElroy in the second foursomes match, which goes off at 8.10am.

In the afternoon, Hurley and Dunne will join Moynihan, Hume and Sharvin in the singles as Ireland seek to secure their place in the semi-finals.

Ireland’s Ladies will also play England in the last eight of the European Team Championships in Denmark.

Olivia Mehaffey will partner Leona Maguire in the opening foursomes match.
Jessica Carty and Maria Dunne will play together in the second match.
Closer to home, Ulster finished third in the interprovincial championship at Rosapenna GC, which were won for the first time in seven years by Leinster.

The 2013 champion got the better of Connacht 8.5-2.5 in the final match yesterday.T

Ulster collected three and a half points in the morning foursomes while there were singles wins for John-Ross Galbraith, Gareth Lappin, Jordan Hood and Stuart Bleakley.

In the battle to win the title, Leinster’s young stars hammered Munster 8.5-2.5 to collect the trophy.