All roads lead to Broughshane for singles event

Aaron Taylor (2014 winner) William Jackson (Wrightbus) and David Morrison (runner-up)
Aaron Taylor (2014 winner) William Jackson (Wrightbus) and David Morrison (runner-up)

Broughshane PFA Annual singles tournament is again ready for lift-off!

The tournament, staged in the Community Centre, Knockan Road, gets under way on Monday, February 2.

Qualifying nights continue through to Friday, with the finals pencilled in for the following evening.

“The competition is now in its 43rd year and is again sponsored by Wrightbus, Ballymena,” said organiser Richard Rodgers.

“Aaron Taylor, from the Rosemount club in Bangor, emerged as the winner in 2014 from an entry of over 220 players drawn from all parts of the province.

“We are looking forward to another successful venture.”

Entries can be made via Richard Rodgers (07704086574, no Sunday calls please). Entry fee will be £4 per player.

It’s the final call for entries for Seaforde Young Farmers Bowling Club;s annual Open Pairs tournament.

The competition will starts tomorrow (Friday, February 27) and recommences on Monday and Tuesday; Thursday and Friday of next week. The finals are scheduled to be held on Saturday, March 7.

Entries to WH McCall (02844811604/07856066706) or Betty McKeating (02843751454/07711260112).

IIBA rules apply and entry fee is £5 per pair.

There is a £1600 prize fund up for grabs in Ballybrakes Bowls Club’s short mat singles tournament on February 7-8.

The competition will be staged under the same format as the Irish Short-Mat tour singles. Entry fee is £20.

Everyone is guaranteed six games in the round robin sections with players then progressing to different knockout stages.

For further information please e-mail or or via Ballybrakes Community Indoor Bowling Club facebook page.