ATHLETICS: Stars bid for Ulster titles

Katie Kirk
Katie Kirk

Ben Reynolds, Katie Kirk and Adam McMullan lead the entry for Saturday’s Northern Ireland and Ulster Senior Track and Field Championships at the Mary Peters Track.

Reynolds set his record of 13.49 for the 110 hurdles at today’s venue two years ago. He has been troubled by injury but the World Indoor representative ran 13.79 in Belgium recently and will successfully defend his title.

Double Commonwealth Games girl Katie Kirk will hopefully have a rematch with Sinead Denny of DSD who just beat her into second in last year’s 400m.

Another Double Games star Christine McMahon is also in the 400 but will earlier be red hot favourite for the 400 hurdles.

Adam McMullan, just selected for the World University Championships in South Korea, is a banker in the long jump. He has achieved 7.77 outdoors and 7.80 indoors and competed in the Europeans.

Race of the day will be the men’s 1500 where Double holder Danny Mooney clashes with the up and coming Andrew Wright who is looking for a Euro U23 qualifying time.

Sub one minute 50 Mark Hoy defend his 800m crown against last year’s silver medallist Michael Dyer and Irish Schools champions Roland Surlis.

The men’s 400 will also be a re-run of 12 months ago with North Down pair Adam McComb and Andrew Mellon both likely to break 49 seconds.

Schools star Roseanna McGuckian can take a sprint double, Irish Masters record holder Kelly Neely should win the 800 with Joanne Mills at 5000 and Declan Reed and Scott Rankin in men’s 5000 likely to be leaders.

Birchfield girl Haley Murray should retain her hammer title. She has a best of 58.39.

David Donegan should win the pole vault with Claire Wilkinson likely to score another success in the women’s event. Young star Robbie Marrs can win the high jump, Ian Graham is fancied in the triple with Lynsey Glover expected to take the shot and Mary Devlin the women’s triple while Robert Moffett will retain his hammer crown.

The action starts at 10 o’clock with the majority of the track finals from 1.25.