Brendan Teer takes honours at inaugural Comber Potato 10K Road Race

Brendan Teer
Brendan Teer

Brendan Teer produced a confident display of running to win the inaugural Comber Potato 10K Road Race promoted by Ballydrain Harriers.

Conditions were windy as the 237 strong field set off from the square with Ballydrain itself producing a huge contingent of 93.

Teer was absolutely on his own by half distance as Paul Rowan, Ben Morrow, Neil Weir and Thomas Simmons disputed second. Teer came home with just over a minute in hand over Paul Rowan who was followed by Morrow, Weir, Simmons and David McNeilly.

Scott McKeag was top Junior with Matt Wray M45, Noel Connor M50, Norman Mawhinney M55, Terry Eakin M60 winning their groups. Willowfield headed by Rowan, Weir and Greg Lucy took the team award from Ballydrain.

Amanda Perry ran strongly to win the Ladies from Antrim runner up Lindsay Pronger with British Masters star Ruth Perioli in third.

Clive Bailey and Shileen O’Kane claimed the major honours at the Spelga Skyline Mountain Race in the Mournes which included the sixth round of the NIMRA Championships.

The event over a 20 kilometre course including 1400 metres of climb over the seven peaks was for a trophy in memory of fell running stalwart Denis Rankin.

Mourne runners Clive and Gary Bailey had moved clear as they came off Slieve Muck after the early misty conditions. Shileen O’Kane, the winner of the five previous rounds, was already ahead in the Ladies and well up among the leading men.

Clive Bailey then opened the decisive gap and came to the finish at Spelga Dam win by five minutes from Gary Bailey with Billy Reid and top M50 Dale Mathers next.

Jim Patterson came twelfth over all as he led the M65 group from Ricky Cowan with Eugene McCann M55 and Steven Cunningham M60 heading their groups.

Shileen O’Kane had only six men ahead of her as she scored a runaway victory to maintain her winning series.