Formula Ford 1600 takes centre stage at Kirkistown

editorial image

Formula Ford 1600 has proved to be one of the highlights of the Kirkistown motor racing season and the second half of the 2015 programme gets into gear on Saturday.

The 500 Motor Racing Club of Ireland has a helping of double headers with the added attraction of the gearbox karts.

In addition to Formula Ford 1600, Saloons, GTs, Roadsports and the welcome return of the Formula Sheanes should provide a day of entertaining racing.

Already the Formula Ford 1600 battles for points in the Northern Ireland Championship has proved to be one of the major highlights so far this season; great battles between Jake Byrne and Adrian Pollock.

Student Byrne is proving to be one of the finds on the Irish motor racing scene and to date he has scored five wins at the County Down venue, thus placing him firmly at the top of the points charts.

Pollock has provided the major challenge to the young driver with Jonny McMullan the only other race winner so far in 2015, although he will be in action later in the year.

Stephen Traub has been the driver to beat in Saloons, driving a very rapid Honda Integra, he has to date five wins under his belt; James Turkington has been the main challenger with his SEAT Cupra. The younger brother of reigning British Touring Car Champion Colin Turkington, he is making a name for himself having switched from his domination in Fiestas.

Roadsports and one name stands out in this class, Jim Larkham, he simply keeps on winning at the wheel of a Radical and in the N.I Sevens class we could see the closest battles of the day.

The one make single seater Formula Sheanes always give of their best when they visit Kirkistown, close racing is assured and the gearbox karts will be amongst the fastest on track.

Cookstown Motor Club are staging the POC NI (Oils) Stage Rally on Saturday, the fifth round of the McGrady Insurance MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship with event HQ at the Glenavon Hotel with the first car away at 11am and the finish is back at the Glenavon Hotel at 5.30pm.

The format is a total of six special stages; three stages tackled twice, a total of just over forty four competitive miles.

An excellent entry has been received with Derek McGarrity the number one seed at the wheel of a Subaru World Rally Car.

Paedar Hurson will start at number two with his Subaru and then follows three Mitsubishi EVOs in the hands of Geoff McMahon, Robert Woodside and Clive Kilpatrick.

The highest seeded Ford Escort is that of Camillus Bradley seeded at seven and he will face stiff competition from the likes of Enda McNulty and Frank Kelly.