Garry Jennings will be looking to win Lurgan Park Rally

Garry Jennings
Garry Jennings

The annual Lurgan Park rally takes place on Saturday featuring a top class entry.

And Fermanagh’s Garry Jennings in his Subaru World Rally Car has won the rally for the last three years and he will be trying hard to make it a fourth trip to the top of the podium.

The Kesh driver will be trying hard as well to get his rallying back on track following the disappointment of retiring after just one stage of the Donegal International when his Subaru WRC engine blew up.

Engineers in the UK have been working hard since to make sure he takes his place amongst the fifty invited crews contesting the eight special stages of the Orchard Motorsport sponsored event.

Against Jennings at the top end of the entry list are some very talented drivers.

Declan Boyle in his Fiesta WRC - although on his first visit to Lurgan Park in a four wheel drive car - is stunningly fast everywhere.

And he has International Tarmac and National Rally titles under his belt as testimony.

Behind Boyle is 11 times Lurgan Park winner Kenny McKinstry in his Subaru and King Kenny wants to make it a dozen wins.

Derek McGeehan in his attractive Mini WRC is seeded in the top six; he led the event initially last year and eventually finished third.

Former multiple Tarmac Champion Derek McGarrity, this time in his Fiesta WRC, could be another in the winning frame.

And Robert Woodside in his Fiesta R5 could spring a surprise.

As well as the top drivers in the World Rally Cars, much interest is sure to be generated by the leading Ford Escort protagonists, with drivers such as Frank Kelly, Damian Toner, Keith White and Adrian Hetherington promising to provide much sideways action through the course of the day. There are many interesting cars in the line up, Ray Brammer is making the trip from Kings Lynn, the popular Pat O’Connell from Cashel has again entered and young stars include Callum Devine (Vauxhall Adam), Kyle White (Citroen C2) and Alan Smyth (Suzuki Swift).

A driver likely to give the Ford Escort men a run for their money is Shane McGirr in his fast Toyota Starlet and the action gets underway at 10am.

Meanwhile Enniskillen Motor Club is pleased to announce Montgomery Motorsport as the title sponsor for their 2016 Erne Trophy Sprint.

The Montgomery Motorsport Erne Trophy Sprint is a counting round of the SW Adair ANICC Sprint Championship and takes place on Saturday July 30 at St Angelo Airfield, near Enniskillen.