Gideon Kimosop claims victory in Derry

Kimosop Gideon
Kimosop Gideon

Gideon Kimosop scored a start to finish victory in the SSE Airtricity 10 Miles Road Race from Ebrington Square, Derry.

The Irish based Kenyan competing for Project Africa was in a class of his own as he stormed through 5 miles in 25:20 well clear of Andrew Annett.

The pace increased in the second half of the event with a sub 50 minute timing becoming a distinct possibility. Eight miles was reached in 40:04 but in the end with no pressure Kimosop, the Belfast and Omagh half marathon winner, crossed the line in 50:04.

Annett was an isolated 2nd with John Black just outsprinting Chris McGuinness for 3rd. Eddie Cooke gave North Belfast three of the top five with Ciaran McGonagle next.

Natasha Adams silver medallist at the Masters International had only seven men in front of her as she dominated the Ladies race to win by over four minutes from Catherine Whoriskey.

Karen Alexander came 3rd ahead of Martsje Hell, Jackie McMonagle and Gemma McGinty. There were 311 finishers altogether.

Menawhile James Edgar of Friends and Craig McMeechan Bangor Grammar came 3rd and 4th behind defending champion Kevin Mulcaire from Ennis in the Senior Boys race at the Glohealth Irish Schools Cross Country Championships at Sligo Racecourse.

Clodagh O’Reilly of Loretto Cavan was 4th in the Senior Girls as was Patrick NcNiff Banbridge Academy in the Inter Boys. Enya Haigney Loretto Omagh 4th and Niamh Heaney Dean Maguire 5th led the Ulster athletes in the Inter Girls.

Rebecca Wallace of Wallace High took silver in the Junior Girls, Andrew Gordon Coleraine Grammar was 6th in the Junior Boys while at Minor level Anna Hill of Victoria and Matthew Smyth Methody both placed 4th.

Team wise St Colmans won gold in Junior Boys, Victoria had silver in Minor Girls while there were bronze medals for St Michaels Enniskillen in Minor Boys and Loretto Omagh took the title in Inter Girls.

Mark McKinstry and Julie Butler took the major honours in the Carmen 10K at Carrickmore.

McKinstry from North Belfast came in a minute before Stephen Kerr and Eoin Hughes while Butler from Omagh had a one and a half minute advantage over Pauline McGurran with Ciara Coyle in 3rd.