Jake Byrne continues to dominate Formula Ford 1600 series

Jake Byrne won again
Jake Byrne won again

Jake Byrne has been the dominant force in Formula Ford 1600 this season and he arrived at Kirkistown intent on adding to his three wins.

After securing pole position, the first race proved a trifle more difficult than expected for the young student.

Byrne was swallowed up at the start as arch rival Adrian Pollock led the pack away at the wheel of his Van Diemen.

Pollock looked good for his third win of the season, but Byrne was on a mission.

Calmly he carved his way through the field catching up with Pollock who was under the close attention of Alan Davidson in an elderly Mondiale.

Byrne shot to the front and Pollock lost out to the impressive Davidson at the Hairpin.

Race two and a confident start saw Byrne never headed and again Davidson who had made a poor start, once again caught and passed Pollock in the closing stages of the race.

Visitor Chris Southcott surprised the regulars by putting his rapid MG Midget on pole with Jim Hutchinson alongside in his Vauxhall powered Escort. Alas Hutchinson never started, pushed off the start line with a mechanical problem.

James Turkington, fastest of the Saloons, had a moment on the approach to the chicane as he collected a badger with his SEAT Cupra. This incident brought the safety car on track.

Southtcott had just taken the lead prior to the incident and on the restart he went on to take the flag while Stephen Traub came through to take the Saloon honours.

Hutchinson had pole for race two and Andy Southcott started from the back of the grid in the family Midget. Hutchinson’s luck was out as he stopped on the approach to the chicane another problem with the Escort.

This resulted in the safety car on track and when the action resumed it was Traub who got to the front never to be headed.

Turkington lost second to the BMW M3 of Andrew Armstrong on the final lap.

The manly based Mondello Strykers made their first Kirkistown appearance of the year in one which has been dominated by Alan Auerbach.

Auerbach won both the Stryker races and it was the same for Jordan Dempsey,

He won both Ginetta Junior races, set a new class lap record was voted Driver of the Day.

Liverpool’s Charlie Craven surprised the locals by winning all three Superkart 250 races while in Superkarts 125, the winners were Stuart Coey, Jonathan Bell and Brian Jones.

Meanwhile, there was a podium position for Colin Turkington at Croft at the wheel of his VW Passat CC, a circuit which has seen him take 10 race wins in the past.

The Portadown driver finished third in round 14 of the British Touring Car Championship, earlier he finished seventh in the opening race at the North Yorkshire venue and in the final race he finished fourth.

The drivers have now a six-week break when the action will resume at Snetterton.