Keith regains Irish endurance title

Eoin Keith
Eoin Keith

Eoin Keith, from Cork, showed tremendous determination to regain the Irish title that he held two years ago at the Energia 24 hours race at the Mary Peters track.

Billy Holder, from Kilkenny, was first to show going through the marathon distance in three hours eleven then James Witty, from Wexford, and Limerick’s Polish athlete Thomas Klimas showed prominently before the experienced athletes took over.

Keith had a bad patch around 2am in the eighth hour of running but then began to reel in the early pace setters before taking a decisive win after covering 142 mile (228kms).

Madrid-based runner Eddie Gallen, the reigning joint champion, came through strongly with 138 while Malcolm Gamble from Melbourne was third with 136.

Susan McCartney from Belfast finished ninth overall as she won the Ladies with 117 from Brenda Miere Dublin at 106 and Gillian Cordner Carrickfergus 101.

Amazingly 35 runners passed the 100 mile mark and seven went over 200kms. Jerry Forde, from Blarney, became the first wheelchair competitor.

The 12 hour race went to Alan Gorski, from Dublin, with 75 miles from Darren Sheridan, of Navan, and Gary Cullinan, also Dublin, with Canadian born Amy Masner from Arklow taking the Ladies with a record 73 miles ahead of the brilliant blind runner Sinead O’Kane, who was accompanied by John O’Regan. Aine Gallagher took third.

The three men and one woman squad from Dublin Bay Runners took the 24 hour relay with a record 192 miles.

Brian Campbell gave a classic demonstration of running to win the Kennedy Kaine Half Marathon in Dervock.

The Willowfield athlete followed his second at Lisburn and victory at Ards with another convincing success as he came in almost two minutes ahead of Gary Henderson.

Elspeth Turner from Horsham in England took the Ladies from Roisin Hughes, Anne Fitzpatrick and Colette McCourt.

Martin Cox led the M50s with Aaron Ballantyne M55, Hugh Boyle M60 and Jack Carberry M70 all winning their groups.

David O’Flaherty came home ahead of a field of 730 to win the Born 2 Run Sea to Sky Race at Newcastle.

O’Flaherty started hot favourite and did not disappoint as he dominated throughout to cross the line forty seconds before Neil Weir with Martin Melville in third.

Laura Graham continued her excellent season taking the Ladies from Mari Troeng with Gillian Burns in third.