Kirkistown plays host to New Year Stages Rally spectacle

Derek McGarrity will be in action at Kirkistown
Derek McGarrity will be in action at Kirkistown

Kirkistown will echo to the sound of rally cars on Saturday as the New Year Stages Rally swings into action.

The drivers will face six special stages all within the confines of the circuit with the first car off at 9am.

Although the main event is non championship, also on the programme the opening round of the 2015 Junior Rally Championship.

Heading the entry is last year’s winner Kieran Graffin with his Mitsubishi while seeded at number two is Derek McGarrity at the wheel of a Mini WRC and Kenny McKinstry will start at three, driving a Subaru WRC.

Amongst the Juniors are Philip White and Michael McGarrity.

Rallying will return to Kirkistown again next month as the North Armagh Motor Club stages the first round of the 2015 MSA ANICC McGrady Insurance Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship, the Eurocables Stages Rally, on Saturday, February 14.

The event also incorporates the second round of the Junior 1000 Rally Challenge Ireland and will comprise of six mainly tarmac Special Stages within the confines of the racing circuit, with the first stage due to start at 10am.

In an effort to reduce costs to the competitor, all vehicle scrutiny and documentation this year will take place on the morning of the event between 6am and 9am.

Supplementary regulations and entry forms for the event can be downloaded from the club website,, or the Association website,

Requests for hard copies of the Regulations or any other queries on the rally should be made to the Event Secretary, Keith Somerville, who can be contacted at 07745 959141.