Mavericks from Tyrone edge Anderson Cup Super 9’s title from Kilkeel

Some members of the winning Mavericks team
Some members of the winning Mavericks team

Cookstown Mavericks are this season’s McCausland Light and Rankin sponsored Anderson Cup Super 9’s champions.

In a superb final’s night of fast entertaining hockey hosted by Banbridge, Cookstown just edged it from Kilkeel Seahorses to clinch the title.

It is 10 years since Cookstown landed the Anderson and it will go someway towards the disappointment of exiting the IHL semi-final in Dublin two weeks ago.

Defending champions Annadale Dragons were not firing and in their opening game against Kilkeel Sharks, Kilkeel snuffed them out with William Annett levelling the game after Daniel Nicholl had scored for Annadale.

Kilkeel were straight into their next game against Cookstown Mavericks and it was no surprise that they went behind to a Ryan Millar goal

But goals from Jonny Aiken and Eddie Agnew had the Sharks in the lead. However, a double strike from Stephen Sloan restored the Mavericks lead.

Cookstown just couldn’t hold on to the lead, when a goal from Luke Russell levelled the game and shared the points.

And it was Stephen Sloan, who rescued Cookstown in their next game against Instonians Seahorses. As his solitary goal secured maximum points for Cookstown’s first win of the night.

Annadale knew that they needed to get a result against Instonians if they were to have any hopes of retaining the cup.

But the Seahorses had other ideas as goals from Alan Patterson and Jordan Robinson gave them a 2-1 win, with Andy Williamson on target for the Dragons.

The result meant Dale faced a mammoth task of pulling something out of the bag against Cookstown in their next game.

However, it was not to be, as goals from Andy Barbour and Johnny Ames sealed the all important win and the trophy was going to Cookstown’s County Tyrone

In the final game of the night, Kilkeel maintained their unbeaten record as they tied their third game, this time in a two all draw against Instonians.

David Finlay and Aiken were on target to ensure the Sharks finished in the runners-up spot, with Paddy Frazer and Alan Patterson scoring for the Seashorses.

Cookstown’s Stephen Sloan sealed a memorable night, bagging three goals and deservedly collected the Player of the Tournament award.


Anderson Cup Final: Annadale Dragons 1 Kilkeel Sharks 1; Kilkeel Sharks 3 v Cookstown Mavericks 3; Cookstown Mavericks 1 v Instonians Seahorses 0; Instonians Seahorses 2 v Annadale Dragons 1; Annadale Dragons 0 Cookstown Mavericks 2; Kilkeel Sharks 2 Instonians Seashorses 2