MOTORSPORT: Declan Boyle man to beat in Donegal

Declan Boyle
Declan Boyle

The 2016 Triton Showers National Rally Championship concludes on Saturday with the Martin Howley Memorial Donegal Harvest Rally in Killybegs.

The event has attracted over 160 crews and while the series has already been won by Roy White (Fiesta WRC), the Safety Group N award and the Junior title and a number of class awards will be decided on the eight-stage event that skirts the coastline of the Wild Atlantic Way.

Former double champion and winner of four rounds of the current series Declan Boyle (Fiesta WRC) is the top seed.  

Boyle will need to be at his very best to fend off the likes of Garry Jennings (Subaru WRC) and another local hero, this year’s Donegal International Rally winner Manus Kelly (Subaru WRC).  

Earlier this season Kelly on his debut in a Subaru WRC won the Carlow Rally, a counting round of the Triton Showers series. Jennings is a former winner of both the Harvest and the International event in Donegal. The battle for supremacy even between this trio should be intense. 

Meanwhile, former triple champion Niall Maguire (Subaru WRC) - a regular in the National series - can secure second overall. The popular Monaghan driver will occupy the number four berth in Killybegs.   

The top ten also features Frank Wray (Subaru WRC) and the trio of rear wheel drive cars of Gary Kiernan, Declan Gallagher and Chris Armstrong.

The Motorsport Safety Group N award within the Triton Showers series will be determined in Donegal.  

Currently, defending champion Aidan Wray Mitsubishi Evo X) is a mere point ahead of the Mitsubishi Evo IX of Shane Maguire.

There will be eight special stages and the Bayview Hotel in Killybegs is Rally HQ.