MOTORSPORT: Four Irish drivers in Citroen Racing Team

Kris Meeke
Kris Meeke

Local rally fans will be delighted with the news that four members of the Citroen Racing Team which will contest the next two seasons of the FIA World Rally Championship are from Ireland.

Kris Meeke with Paul Nagle, Craig Breen gets a full time slot and Chris Patterson will be co-driver to Sheikh Khalid Al Qassimi during 2017 and the team will take to the world rally stages with the new C3 World Rally Car. The other team driver signed by Citroen is Stephane Lefebvre.

The new look team with the new car will arrive on the rally scene on the opening round of the 2017 FIA World Rally Championship in Monte Carlo.

The choice of signing young drivers is very much in line with Citroen’s long-held policy aimed at identifying and developing talented young rally drivers.

In the past 15 years, the French carmaker has identified some of the best in the business; Loeb, Ogier, Sordo, Neuville, Camilli and of course Meeke and Breen and Lefebvre are destined to add their names to this illustrious list!

For Monte Carlo the team will enter two C3 WRCs: one for Meeke and the other for either Breen or Lefebvre, who will alternate driving duties.

At some rounds, a fourth C3 WRC will also be entered for Al Qassimi and Patterson.