Over 1500 runners ready for Larne Half Marathon

Joe McAllister
Joe McAllister

Saturday’s AES Larne Half Marathon has attracted an entry of over 1500 runners for the event which includes the second round of the Pure Running – ChampionChip Ireland Series.

Joe McAllister is the defending champion and looks to be running into good form. He placed third in Sunday’s Jimmy Murray’s 10K race in Downpatrick behind Kenyans Gideon Kimosop and Vincent Kiprotich.

The African stars are in Northern Ireland for three months as part of the Project Africa Initiative and are possible competitors today along with Dundalk to Newry winner Paddy Hamilton.

Brian Campbell from Willowfield, the triple Northern Ireland Cross Country Champion is a former winner of this event and will challenge for a rostrum place along with North Down pair, Stephen Wylie and Dennis Scott, third and fourth last time.

Jarlath McKenna from Bristol and West set a personal best for the distance of 72:14 recently and will feature along with Ben Morrow, Chris Denton, Simon Reeve, Kent Swann and Conor McMullan.

Downpatrick winner Selinah Kangogo also Kenyan can go for a quick double in the Ladies’ race. Defending champion Fiona Stack from Raheny may make an on the day entry as she did last time.

North Belfast’s Roisin Hughes third in Larne in 2013 will place highly along with Lyndsey Pronger, Gemma Turley, Fran McFadden, Amanda Perry, Gillian Douglas and Geraldine Quigley.

Patrick Monaghan won the wheelchair contest last time from Paul Hannon and Jim Corbett and a repeat can be on the cards.

Angus McCready from Up and Runners and Michael McKeown of East Down have amazingly taken part in every race of the series since the opening contest in 2009.

The event, promoted by Larne AC and Larne Borough Council, has a generous prize list in all categories including commemorative medals designed by local primary school pupils.

The course goes through the centre of Larne before climbing up to Cairn Castle and returning by the Coast Road to finish on the Promenade.

The main event starts at 11am.