Rob Duggan, John Moffett and Patrick O’Brien nominated for Billy Coleman award

Rob Duggan has been nominated for the Billy Coleman award
Rob Duggan has been nominated for the Billy Coleman award

The finalists for Motorsport Ireland’s Billy Coleman Young Rally Driver of the Year award have been officially announced with Rob Duggan, Josh Moffett and Patrick O’Brien in the running to take home one of Irish rallying’s most prestigious titles.

The three drivers were chosen from a shortlist of eight candidates who were nominated for the award on the merits of their performances during the year.

All eight faced a rigorous selection process which included interviews from a panel of judges comprising members of the media, an official from Sport Ireland (formerly the Irish Sports Council) and representatives from the club and rallying world.

The internationally-recognised Billy Coleman Award is one of the most prestigious accolades that any young driver in Ireland can aspire to. It comes with a prize valued at €50,000 in support to help the winner boost their career.

Past winners include Daniel McKenna and Craig Breen, who have gone on to compete at the highest level, winning multiple British Rally Championship events and flying the flag at European and World Rally Championship level.

The overall winner will be announced at the Dunlop Champions of Irish Motorsport awards ceremony on December 2.

The award is supported by Motorsport Ireland, Dunlop and Sport Ireland.