Seamus Lynch and Shileen O’Kane win at Annalong race

Seamus Lynch
Seamus Lynch

Seamus Lynch and Shileen O’Kane maintained their overall leads with victories in the Annalong Horseshoe Mountain Race which was held in perfect conditions.

The event over 13.1 miles including 1500 metres of climb was the third round of the NIMRA Championship Series.

Lynch already the winner at Glenariff and Donard/Commedagh moved to the front early on along with defending series champion Jonny Steede.

The pair were together for most of the race but on the decent from Binnian Lynch opened a gap to cross the line with a thirty two seconds advantage over Steede who clocked a faster time than when he won last year.

Sam Heron was third with Clive Bailey, Gary Bailey, Dale Mathers, Neil Carty and David McNeilly making up the top eight. Mourne Runners won the team. Shileen O’Kane also retained her 100% record in the series. The Lagan Valley girl was in control throughout.

Diane Wilson took an excellent second place. Jacqueline Toal and Taryn McCoy were next with Denise Mathers and Sam McNeilly following.

Ian Taylor of BARF amazingly completed his 32nd Annalong Horseshoe Race.

Kevin Seaward set a new personal best in the Great Manchester 10K. The St Malachys athlete running for the Cardiff club clocked 29:54 his first time under the thirty minute barrier.

Northern Ireland and Ulster 5K and 10K champion Ann Marie McGlynn was just outside her best with 34:52.

Keith Shiels of St Columbs showed his complete recovery from injury as he won the Termoneeny 10K in the North West. He led from the start and crossed the line over two minutes in front of Aaron Meharg of Acorns with Michael Kerr from Carmen third.

Gemma Turley added another victory to her list by dominating the Ladies which she took from Lorna Sibbett of Ballymena Runners with Catriona Murphy from the home club third.