SPOTY 2015: Andy Murray is voted Sports Personality of the Year 2015

Winner of 2015 Sports Personality of the Year Andy Murray
Winner of 2015 Sports Personality of the Year Andy Murray

The public have crowned Andy Murray as BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2015.

Votes were cast online and by telephone during the ceremony at The SSE Arena in Belfast, live on BBC One.

Kevin Sinfield came second, with Jessica Ennis-Hill in third place.

The awards were presented by Gary Lineker, Clare Balding and Gabby Logan in front of a 7,500 strong crowd in Belfast, the first time the event has been hosted in Northern Ireland. The ceremony reflected on a year which included sporting highlights such as the Rugby World Cup, the World Athletics Championship, a Women’s Football World Cup and an Ashes series in the UK.

Team of the Year was awarded to Great Britain’s Davis Cup team in recognition of winning the trophy for the first time in 79 years. Captain Leon Smith collected the award alongside Kyle Edmund, Dan Evans, Dominic Inglot, Andy Murray, Jamie Murray and James Ward, who all contributed to the historic triumph. Andy Murray sealed victory in the final against Belgium meaning he won all 11 matches he played in the tournament this year. The award was presented by Martin O’Neill and Dame Mary Peters.

Dan Carter was named as Overseas Sports Personality of the Year prior to the event in Belfast. He beat Usain Bolt, Novak Djokovic, Katie Ledecky, Jordan Spieth and Serena Williams to the prize after the award was decided by a public vote for the first time. The Racing 92 fly-half won the World Rugby Player of the Year award after his performances helped New Zealand win the Rugby World Cup. He was man-of-the-match in the final, scoring 19 points as the All Blacks beat rivals Australia. It was the third time in his glittering career he has been named as the best player in the world.

Ellie Downie was named as the BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year and was presented with the award by boxer Carl Frampton and athlete Dina Asher-Smith. The sixteen-year-old gymnast made history when she became the first British female to win an individual all-around medal for Great Britain at the European Championships with a bronze. The Nottingham youngster also helped secure Great Britain’s first ever team medal at a World Championships when they also picked up a bronze.

The Helen Rollason Award was presented to eight-year-old Bailey Matthews. Despite having cerebral palsy, Bailey completed the Castle Howard Triathlon in North Yorkshire in July, conquering the 100m swim, 4km bike ride and 1.3km run. Bailey’s inspirational story was widely reported around the world and he has been recognised for his outstanding achievement in the face of adversity. One Direction’s Niall Horan presented Bailey with the trophy alongside two-time Olympic champion Rebecca Adlington. The award is presented in memory of Helen Rollason, the BBC presenter who died from cancer 15 years ago in 1999 at the age of 43.

The BBC Get Inspired Unsung Hero award for 2015 was presented to Damien Lindsay, a football coach from west Belfast. The Unsung Hero award honours individuals from the world of grassroots sport and recognises those who, on a voluntary basis, go the extra mile to contribute to sport in their local community. Damien formed St James Swifts Football Club to encourage local children to become involved in sport as opposed to anti-social behaviour. Damien was selected from 15 regional winners from across the UK and was presented the award in his hometown by Eddie Izzard and Jordanne Whiley.