Top drivers ready for Lurgan Park Rally

Garry Jennings has won the Lurgan Park Rally the past three years
Garry Jennings has won the Lurgan Park Rally the past three years

The Orchard Motorsport Lurgan Park Rally on July 2 has hit maximum revs in its preparations, with several of the top drivers entered.

Former Tarmac and National champion Declan Boyle has added his name to the 50-strong entry list.

The Donegal man will drive his state of the art Fiesta WRC.

Fermanagh’s Garry Jennings in his Subaru WRC has won this Rally for the last three years, and was one of the first entries received by the organising North Armagh Club.

Further potential winners include Kenny McKinstry in his Subaru Impreza WRC S14, dubbed the ‘King of the Park’ in respect of his 11  previous victories, and also former Tarmac and current NI Champion Derek McGarrity in his Fiesta WRC will also add spice to the occasion.

Meanwhile, the Munster Car Club has announced details for the final round of the Clonakilty Blackpudding Irish Tarmac Rally Championship, the AceSigns Cork 20 International Rally which takes place on October 1-2.

As with 2015, the Rally HQ will be the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Little Island, with the competitive action taking place around the Fermoy area.

There will be 14 stages in total with Saturday’s eight stages to the south of Fermoy and the six remaining stages on Sunday to the north of the town.

As well as being the final round of the Tarmac Championship, the rally is also a counting round of the popular clubman Southern 4 Rally Championship.

The Cork 20 Rally is one of the oldest events in Europe having been initially a 20-hour endurance rally. It became an International Rally in 1977 and over the years has seen some of the best drivers in the world compete on it.

Drivers such as Sebastian Loeb and Ari Vatanen won the event while Mikko Hirvonen, Dani Sordo and Markko Martin also competed.

Top Irish drivers such as Billy Coleman, Frank Meagher, Bertie Fisher, Austin McHale and Andrew Nesbitt are just some to have had their names inscribed on the winner’s trophy.