Ulster players in latest Ireland panel

Wallace High School's Sean Murray
Wallace High School's Sean Murray

Ten Ulster players have been included in the reduced Ireland U-18 squad which is currently preparing for the EuroHockey Youth Championship series which is scheduled for July.

Wallace High School is well represented, with four members of the starting team who lost to Banbridge Academy in the recent McCullough Cup final making the cut including the prodigiously talented Sean Murray.

Murray recently turned his hand to indoor hockey with great success as he helped Queen’s lift the Ulster title for the first time.

Sean is also a first team regular with Lisnagarvey in the Premier League and he is joined in the U-18 panel by three school and club mates.

Matthew Nelson, Mark McNellis and Ryan Getty are also included while Tim Watt, who was on the winning Banbridge Academy side in that McCullough final against Wallace also gets the nod.

Another Lisnagarvey player to have made the latest stage of the selection process is Friends School keeper James Milliken.

Milliken was player of the match in last season’s final and he played for Garvey’s first team in the Kirk Cup semi final in November.

Joining them in making up the Ulster contingent are Kyle Marshal (Markethill), Zak McClelland (Portadown College), Peter McKibben (Regent), James Milliken (Friends), Calum Robson (Sullivan Upper).