Victory for Colin Turkington at Silverstone

Colin Turkington and son Lewis on the podium at Croft
Colin Turkington and son Lewis on the podium at Croft

Colin Turkington swept to victory in the final race of the weekend at Silverstone in the British Touring Car Championship, his win taking him to third overall in the series with just three races remaining.

Driving his Team BMR VW CC the Portadown driver finished fifth in the opening race while poleman Matt Jackson romped to victory in a Ford Focus.

Race two went the way of Andy Priaulx’s BMW while Turkington fell back to finish eighth, the tyres of his VW going off.

But a brilliant overtaking manoeuvre on Rob Collard (BMW) saw Turkington lead the pack and go on to victory by a two second winning margin in the final race.

“I am going on the attack at Brands Hatch, I have nothing to lose. I am 32 points adrift of championship leader Gordon Shedden so I will be giving it my all,” said Turkington.

The final three races in two weeks time will be over the Brands Hatch Grand Prix circuit as the British Touring Car Championship builds up to a grandstand finish.

Team BMR came away from Silverstone having sealed the Independent’s Team Trophy, now they can concentrate on one of their drivers landing the big prize.

However Jason Plato and Turkington have a real fight on their hands with Shedden’s Honda Civic.

Despite not making the start of round eight of the 2015 MSA ANICC McGrady Insurance MSA Northern Ireland Rally Championship the Bushwhacker Stages Rally Derek McGarrity was declared the 2015 Northern Ireland Rally Champion, having won the opening four rounds of the series.

This a record sixth title for the Glengormley driver who was unable to make the start of the final round due to a car being sold.

However there were other titles to be decided on this final round, including the Carryduff Forklift R2 Wales prize drive, the Group N and Historic titles.

Mark Donnelly in his Subaru Impreza WRC led the event from start to finish with co-driver Barry McNulty, finishing twenty seconds ahead of Monaghan’s Josh Moffett in his Group A Mitsubishi Evo 9.

Desi Henry soon moved into third in his Skoda Super 2000, a position he held to the finish, ahead of former NI Rally Champion Kenny McKinstry in his S14 Subaru Impreza.

Martin Cairns in another Subaru S14 Impreza was fourth before incurring a stage maximum on the final stage.

The two wheel drive challenge was led initially by Paul Barrett in his Historic Pinto Ford Escort MK2, but he dropped back on stage three and unfortunately went off the road before the finish. Frank Kelly took up the front running on stage three, but gear-box problems forced his retirement, leaving Shane McGirr and Jackie Elliott to take the two wheel drive honours in a Toyota Starlet.

Group N winner on the event was Cathan McCourt, but the championship was decided in Simon Woodside’s favour, with team-mates Clive Kilpatrick second and Geoff McMahon third all in Mitsubishi Evos.

The 1994 NI Rally Champion- Stephen Mawhinney took his Lotus Sunbeam to the Historic title after a controlled drive on the event, with Historic honours on the rally going to Ryan Barrett.

Much of the attention was focused on the Carryduff Forklift R2 Wales runners. Killarney’s Rob Duggan did what he needed to do, second place on the event to rival Jon Armstrong being enough to scoop the magnificent Wales Rally GB drive in the DGM Sport DS3 R3.