Host of stars set to participate in Lap of Honour

Today’s Classic Racer Magazine Classic TT Lap of Honour is set to be one of the highlights of the event with the entry packed with both legendary riders and iconic machinery.

The parade is a celebration of some of the UK’s finest ever road racers as well as the career of TT legend Geoff Duke, and includes riders with a combined total of no less than 95 TT victories and 209 TT podiums.

Fifteen former TT winners will be on the grid out of a total field of over 150 riders who will take to the Mountain Course at 12.20pm.

Twenty-three time TT Race winner John McGuinness leads the way fresh from his win and new outright lap record in this year’s PokerStars Senior TT. McGuinness will ride his own 600cc Triumph Daytona, the same machine he rode at the 2003 TT Race meeting.

Bruce Anstey, another 2015 TT winner who will be appearing in the parade is now third on the all-time list of podium finishers. Anstey has 10 TT wins and 35 rostrums to his name following this year’s races, which saw him win his first Superbike race and take three runners-up spots.

The Kiwi will ride a 500cc Manx Norton in the parade as part of the tributes to Geoff Duke.

The evergreen Jim Redman MBE, a six-time World Champion, returns to the Isle of Man where he achieved a unique hat-trick of double Junior and Lightweight wins in 1963, 1964 and 1965. He will be riding a 500cc Honda in the parade, similar to the bike he rode during the 1966 season.

Four past and present Northern Ireland TT legends - Brian Reid, Phil McCallen, Con Law and current star Michael Dunlop will also appear. 

Reid’s memorable TT career included being the first rider to lap the Mountain Course at more than 112mph on a 250cc machine in 1985, and he took his first of five TT wins in the 1986 Formula Two race.

McCallen’s highlight was undoubtedly his four wins in 1996 and he’ll take part in the parade on board one of his race-winning RC45 Hondas, while Law’s short five-year career included consecutive Junior TT race wins in 1982 and 1983.

Dunlop has already matched McCallen’s 11 wins and while 2015 wasn’t as successful as previous years, he still stood on the podium in the RL360 Superstock race and became the second fastest rider of all time with a lap of 132.515mph.

Three great Scottish riders, Ian Simpson, his father Bill and Alex George - all TT race winners - will grace the Mountain Course again, while close friends Steve Plater and Mick Grant will parade Norton’s SG3 and SG2 respectively. 

Plater’s three-year career included victory in the 2009 Senior TT while multiple British Champion Grant has seven TT victories to his name.