Mayor’s Trophy tops bill at Kirkistown on Easter Monday

Davey Todd in action on the Cookstown B.E. Suzuki during a test at Kirkistown.
Davey Todd in action on the Cookstown B.E. Suzuki during a test at Kirkistown.

Following Saturday’s Enkalon Trophy meeting at Bishopscourt, the Ulster Superbike Championship action moves across Strangford Lough to Kirkistown on for the traditional Easter Monday meeting on the Ards Peninsula.

The Mayor’s Trophy race takes centre stage as the headline event, when riders including reigning Irish Superbike champion Charles Stuart, the returning David Haire and Waterford’s Brian McCormack are among the leading entries.

Scotsman Kris Duncan will also make the trip while George Farlow, a name many fans will be familiar with from the past, will make his comeback riding a carbon fibre-framed BMW HP4.

England’s Davey Todd will also have a run out at Kirkistown on John Burrows’ Cookstown B.E. Racing machines.

Todd made his debut between the hedges last year and turned heads with some impressive results at the Skerries 100 and Armoy.

The former British Superstock 600 race winner is preparing to embark on a full season on the roads with the Dungannon team, when he will make his debut at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT.

Todd will also be in action at the Cookstown 100 at the end of April before tackling Tandragee for the first time.

The 22-year-old is one to keep an eye on this season as he comes under the tutelage of former racer Burrows, who has helped guide the careers of some top riders since he set up his team after retiring from the sport, including Jamie Hamilton, Dan Kneen, Derek Sheils and Malachi Mitchell-Thomas, who was sadly killed in a crash at the North West 200 in 2015.

The Mayor’s Trophy will be awarded to the winner of the second Superbike race at Monday’s short circuit meeting, which is being promoted by the Belfast & District Motor Club Ltd.

In the Supersport class, regular frontrunners including Jason Lynn, Christian Elkin and Kia and Korie McGreevy will face some stiff opposition, including Burrows’ rider Todd, who will be aiming to bring his British championship experience to the table and ruffle the feathers of the established local names.

The Superbike and Supersport Cup classes will also be keenly contested, while the Supertwins races should provide some exciting competition with Cahal Graham, Marty Lennon and Dave Walsh leading the line-up.

The race programme also features the Production Twins, which will run in conjunction with the Supertwins, Pre Injection, Lightweight Supersport and Moto3, incorporating the 125GP and 250GP machines.

A bumper Sidecar entry includes Scobbie Killough, Peter O’Neill, Dylan Lynch, Terry O’Reilly and Andy Kennedy.

Admission will be £10 with children under 12 going free (when accompanied by an adult).

Practice is scheduled to get under way at 9am.