TT 2015: Bruce Anstey makes it perfect ten with Superbike victory

Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts Honda at Governor's during the RST Superbike TT
Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts Honda at Governor's during the RST Superbike TT

New Zealand’s Bruce Anstey chalked up his 10th Isle of Man TT triumph with a stunning maiden win in the RST Superbike race on Sunday.

In a dramatic race, Ulsterman Michael Dunlop crashed on the final lap at The Nook on the Buildbase BMW, bringing out the red flags.

Dunlop, though, later emerged from the back of an ambulance at the Grandstand and appeared to have escaped relatively unhurt.

Outright lap record holder Anstey, who set the first 132mph lap year, had to work hard for his win on the Valvoline Padgetts Honda, reeling in the rejuvenated Ian Hutchinson on Paul Bird’s Kawasaki before opening an advantage in the second half of the six-lap race, setting the fastest speed on the final lap at 131.797mph to take victory by 10.9 seconds.

Third place went to James Hillier on the Quattro Plant Kawasaki, who gained a place following Dunlop’s accident on the last lap.

Honda’s John McGuinness finished in fourth ahead of Tyco BMW’s William Dunlop and Michael Rutter on the Bathams BMW, who rounded out the top six.

Guy Martin on the second of the Tyco BMW machines was a retirement on lap one at Ballagarey, while another of the fancied frontrunners – Gary Johnson – crashed on the GBmoto Kawasaki at Guthrie’s after losing the front end of his ZX-10R, but escaped injury.

Ryan Farquhar was among the retirements on the SGS/KMR Kawasaki.


RST Superbike TT

1 B Anstey (Honda)

2 I Hutchinson (Kawasaki)

3 J Hillier (Kawasaki)

4 J McGuinness (Honda)

5 W Dunlop (BMW)

6 M Rutter (BMW