TT 2015: WATCH: Senior TT press conference

Honda's John McGuinness won the PokerStars Senior TT
Honda's John McGuinness won the PokerStars Senior TT

Morecambe Missile John McGuinness saved his best until last as the Honda rider blitzed his rivals in a record-breaking PokerStars Senior TT.

McGuinness established a new outright lap record for the Mountain Course on lap two of the four-lap race, which was re-run over a shortened distance following Jamie Hamilton’s crash, which brought out the red flag.

He shattered Bruce Anstey’s previous record with an incredible speed of 132.701mph, despite slowing down to come in for his pit stop.

The 43-year-old never challenged for victory in last Sunday’s RST Superbike race, but McGuinness was at his imperious best as he dominated the prestigious race to end the festival with the most important trophy of all, matching Mike Hailwood’s record of seven Senior wins.

His margin of victory at the finish was 14.2 seconds over the impressive James Hillier on the Quattro Plant Kawasaki, who reeled in hat-trick hero Ian Hutchinson (PBM Kawasaki) after the Bingley rider lost ground when he ran on at Signpost corner.