Unbeaten Derek Sheils aiming to claim Adelaide Masters Series title

Derek Sheils is unbeaten this season in the Adelaide Masters Series on the BikeBits NI Kawasaki
Derek Sheils is unbeaten this season in the Adelaide Masters Series on the BikeBits NI Kawasaki

A quality entry will contest the penultimate round of the 2015 Adelaide Masters Series on Saturday at Bishopscourt in Co Down, headed by runaway leader Derek Sheils.

The Dublin man has dominated the prestigious short circuit championship this season on the BikeBits NI Kawasaki and has won all nine races so far to open a gap at the top of 60 points over Randalstown’s Gerard Kinghan.

Sheils, who will leave Bishopscourt following the second Superbike race to travel to Faugheen for the latest Irish national road race meeting on the calendar this weekend, has proved unstoppable on is home turf at Mondello Park, but his opposition tomorrow includes the returning Cody Nally from Athlone, whose National Superstock 1000 campaign was cut short by injury.

Nally, who recently parted company from the Hillsborough-based MWR Motorsports team, will ride a borrowed Kawasaki ZX-10R courtesy of Alan Kenny.

David Haire will ride the Sliders UK Ducati, which the Lisburn man has been competing on in this season’s National Superstock 1000 Championship, while Kinghan will be gunning to make up ground in the championship shake-up as the Masters series deviates away from Sheils’ stomping ground at Mondello Park for one round only.

Waterford man Brian McCormack, Alistair Kirk and National Superstock 1000 regular Nico Mawhinney will also hope to contend tomorrow, while Crumlin’s Ryan Rainey – who returned to racing this season after eight years – can’t be ruled out on the IFS Global Logistics YZF-R1M Yamaha.

The second Superbike race sees the Norman Brown Memorial Trophy up for grabs, which has been won previously by famous names including Joey Dunlop, Woolsey Coulter, Mark Farmer and Alan Irwin and most recently by Portadown’s Marshall Neill, who bagged the silverware three times in succession from 2012-2014.

Race Director, Roy Biggerstaff, said: “Marshall Neill has been trying to sort something out and could turn up at the last minute to defend the Norman Brown Trophy, but we still have a top quality line-up and everyone is looking forward to a great day’s racing.

“The weather forecast looks promising and along with the all the regulars in the series, we also have David Haire and Cody Nally in action.

“We’ve a full programme of races with the Pre-Injection, Supertwin and Production Twin classes, the Lightweight Supersport machines along with the main Superbike and Supersport events, plus the Sidecars will be out for the very first time at a round of the Adelaide Masters.”

The Supersport class has served up some incredible action this season with Robert English, Connor Parkhill and Robert Kennedy going head to head.

English has won six times on the IFS Triumph to stake his claim for the title but the Bangor rider faces fierce opposition for the top step, with Nikki Coates, Jamie Patterson, Jason Lynn, Luke Johnston and Richie Ryan in the mix.

Nonetheless, English – who leads Parkhill by 76 points – has a chance to secure the Supersport crown tomorrow ahead of the final round at Mondello Park, which takes place from October 3-4.

Admission is £10 with under 16s admitted free when accompanied by a paying adult.

Practice will take place from 9am.

Meanwhile, Bruce Anstey will again ride a 1992 Grand Prix YZR500 Yamaha at the Classic TT as the Flying Kiwi bids to defend his crown for the Valvoline Padgetts team.

Anstey won the Motorsport Merchandise Formula One race on the iconic machine in 2014, leading from start to finish and setting the fastest lap at 123.894mph.

The 46-year-old rode with a conservative set-up with the lightweight GP bike last year to ensure it withstood the rigours of the Mountain Course.

And Anstey is confident the machine is capable of matching the fastest TT Supersport lap speeds of 127mph-128mph.

Manx rider Dan Kneen will also compete at the event for Clive Padgett after missing the Classic TT through injury last year.

Kneen will ride a 1989 750cc Yamaha OW01, which former TT winner Rob McElnea rode for the team in the early part of the 1989 season, finishing third and fourth in the Hungarian round of that year’s World Superbike Championship.