ALL IRELAND LEAGUE: headline here

Malone's Richard Millar pushes forward against Naas'  David Benn(left) and Raul Tolofua
Malone's Richard Millar pushes forward against Naas' David Benn(left) and Raul Tolofua


Malone ended their Division 2A home campaign with a defeat against promotion chasing Naas at Gibson Park.

The Leinster outscored the hosts by three tries to one and with Banbridge losing at Corinthians Naas will go into the final weekend three points clear at the top of the table.

Naas took the lead after four minutes when Malone were punished for not rolling away in the tackle under their own posts and scrum half Peter Osborne knocked over the simple penalty.

Malone took the lead on eight minutes, James McAlister charged down an attempted clearance out of the Naas 22, the home side worked the ball through a couple of phases before prop Gary Crawford barged over from close range but Mark O’Connor failed to convert.

Osborne restored the visitors lead with his second penalty two minutes later.

Naas got their opening try when from a defensive five metre lineout Malone were guilty of not throwing n straight, Naas got a big push on from the resulting scrum before switching the ball wide for winger Fionn Hughes to dot down with Osborne converting.

O’Connor kept the home team in touch with a long range penalty on 17 minutes.

Naas got their second try on 20 minutes, following powerful driving by the pack No8 Raul Tolofua squeezed through a gap to touch down and Osborne converted.

Naas went into the interval with a 25-8 as they scored a third try in first half injury time, Huges made a searing break down the wing before popping the ball inside for replacement Rab O’Connor to score but Osborne failed to convert.

Naas had flanker Will O’Brien and Tolofua yellow carded within a two minute spell at the start of the second half but Malone failed to capitalised when they run the ball from a five metre scrum and were turned over.

Malone had Gareth Miller and Michael Cartmill sin binned in the last five minutes.

Malone: M O’Connor, A Bryans, M Cartmill, J Pentland, M Barker, N Brown, J McMurty; B Halliday, D Cave, G Crawford, C Tipping, J McAlister, M Porter, N Alcorn, R Millar

Replacements:J Ogilby, L Barlow, C Davis, J Bingham, G Martin

Naas:B Swindlehurst, F Hughes, J Delaney, H Bryce, J Murphy, D Aherne, P Osborne;S Reilly, J Sutton, J Harney, J Holmes, D Benn, R Casey, W O’Brien, R Tolofua

Reolacements:C Kings, A Coyle, P Monaghan, D Barron, R O’Connor