Glasgow make two changes for PRO12 semi-final visit of Ulster

Glasogw will be captained by Al Kellock
Glasogw will be captained by Al Kellock

Glasgow Warriors head coach Gregor Townsend has made two personnel changes and one positional switch to the side which defeated Ulster last weekend, ahead of Friday night’s GUINNESS PRO12 Play-Off encounter against the same opponents.

The match with Ulster is expected to sell out and will be played in front of around 10,000 supporters at Scotstoun Stadium (kick-off 7.45pm) – live on Sky Sports 3 & BBC ALBA.

Glasgow finished top of the GUINNESS PRO12 for the first time in the club’s history and are unbeaten at home in the league since November 2013.

This game will be the final home match for Al Kellock, Niko Matawalu and DTH van der Merwe, with the Canadian international named among the replacements and set to return from injury.

Kellock, who will captain the side once again having led the club for the last nine years, is set to retire at the end of the season.

Coming into the side which started the 32-10 win over Ulster last Saturday is scrum-half Henry Pyrgos and after being named McCrea Financial Services Player of the Season last night at the club’s Awards Dinner, Matawalu moves from scrum-half to the left wing in place of Sean Lamont.

In the forwards Fraser Brown returns to the line-up after recovering from a hamstring injury and he replaces Dougie Hall at hooker.

A limited number of tickets and hospitality places are available for tomorrow’s game from

Glasgow team

15. Stuart Hogg

14. Tommy Seymour

13. Richie Vernon

12. Peter Horne

11. Niko Matawalu

10. Finn Russell

9. Henry Pyrgos

1. Ryan Grant

2. Fraser Brown

3. Rossouw de Klerk

4. Jonny Gray

5. Al Kellock (Captain)

6. Josh Strauss

7. Chris Fusaro

8. Adam Ashe


16. Pat MacArthur

17. Gordon Reid

18. Mike Cusack

19. Leone Nakarawa

20. Ryan Wilson

21. Duncan Weir

22. Sean Lamont

23. DTH van der Merwe