GUINNESS PRO12: Iain Henderson starts for Ulster against Glasgow

Iain Henderson
Iain Henderson

Director of Rugby, Les Kiss, has named his Ulster match day squad for Friday’s Guinness PRO12 match against Glasgow Warriors (Scotstoun Stadium, 7.35pm).

There are five changes to the starting team that faced Zebre three weeks ago.

Captain Rob Herring is joined in the front row by Callum Black, who replaces Kyle McCall at loosehead prop and Ricky Lutton is named at tighthead.

Alan O’Connor is among those who utilised the break to return from injury, he replaces Pete Browne in the second row, partnering Franco van der Merwe. Iain Henderson returns to the starting line-up having been out since December with a hamstring injury. He is joined in the backrow by Chris Henry and Nick Williams.

Paddy Jackson will make his 100th appearance for his Province on Friday night and continues his half back partnership with Ruan Pienaar.

Positional switches result in a new-look backline, with Stuart Olding moving from the centre to fullback and Craig Gilroy returning to the right wing. Rory Scholes moves to the left flank in place of Jacob Stockdale, who is on a down week following his involvement with the Ireland U20 Six Nations campaign.

Stuart McCloskey, who made his debut for Ireland against England during the Six Nations, replaces Stuart Olding at inside centre, Luke Marshall completes the midfield partnership.

Paul Marshall, Sam Windsor and Darren Cave will provide backline cover. Whilst John Andrew, Kyle McCall, Andy Warwick, Robbie Diack and Sean Reidy are the forward replacements.

Ulster: S Olding, C Gilroy, L Marshall, S McCloskey, R Scholes, P Jackson, R Pienaar;

(1-8): C Black, R Herring (C), R Lutton, A O’Connor, F van der Merwe, I Henderson, C Henry, N Williams;

Replacements (16-23): J Andrew, K McCall, A Warwick, R Diack, S Reidy, P Marshall, S Windsor, D Cave.