GUINNESS PRO12: Ulster claim important victory over Edinburgh at Kingspan Stadium

Ulster's Luke Marshall in action with Edinburgh
Ulster's Luke Marshall in action with Edinburgh


Ulster got their Guinness Pro12 campaign back on track with a 14-7 victory over Edinburgh at a windswept Kingspan Stadium.

Two tries in the first half were enough to give Ulster a fourth home victory of the season and leapfrog the Scottish side in the league table.

Ulster took the lead on four minutes when they were awarded a penalty try.

From a lineout Chris Henry made a break but was stopped close to the line, Ruan Pienaar picked up but was stopped by Edinburgh captain Michael Coman but he was in an offside position and the referee went under the posts with Paddy Jackson converting.

Edinburgh full-back Jack Cuthbert missed a penalty when it dropped short.

Ulster lost Irish internationals Darren Cave and Iain Henderson in quick succession but despite the setback were able to get their second try on 11 minutes.

From a scrum replacement Louis Ludik made a break, he passed out of the tackle to winger Rory Scholes and he showed a great turn of foot to race over with Jackson converting.

Ulster continued to apply pressure but could add to the score and went in at half-time with a 14-0 lead.

Edinburgh opened their account on 48 minutes.

Following a forward drive out half Phil Burleigh kicked behind the Ulster defence and No8 Cornell Du Preez touched down with Cuthbert converting from a tight angle.

Ulster thought they had a third try on 71 minutes when centre Luke Marshall finished off a well worked team move but it was disallowed as Chris Henry was adjudged to have held Burleigh back in the build up.

Ulster: P Nelson, A Trimble, D Cave, L Marshall, R Scholes, P Jackson, R Pienaar, K McCall, R Herring, R Lutton, D Tuohy, F van der Merwe, I Henderson, C Henry, N Williams.

Replacements: J Andrew for Tuohy 60 mins, A Warwick for McCall 62 mins, W Herbst for Lutton 42 mins, A O’Connor for van der Merwe 58 mins, C Ross for Henderson 4 mins, P Marshall for Scholes 34 mins, S McCloskey for Nelson 28 mins, L Ludik for Cave 5 mins

Edinburgh: J Cuthbert, D Fife, C Dean, M Scott, W Helu, P Burleigh, S Kennedy; A Dickinson, R Ford, WP Nel, A Bresler, A Toolis, M Coman, J Hardie, C Du Preez.

Replacements: N Cochrane for R Ford 47 mins, R Sutherland for Dickerson 47 mins, J Andress for Nel 47 mis, J Ritchie, H Watson for Coman 41 mins, N Fowles for Kennedy 55 mins, M Allen for Dean 66 mins, B Kinghorn for Cuthbert 54 mins.

Ref I Davies (WRU)