Instonians fall short against Munster champions Clonmel

Sebastiano Folla goes on the attack for Instonians
Sebastiano Folla goes on the attack for Instonians

Instonians 27 Clonmel 38

Instonians finished off their round robin campaign with a home defeat against Munster champions Clonmel.

Denis Leamy’s side outscored their host by five tries to four in the spring sunshine but with Dundalk winning against Connemara neither Inst or Clonmel will progress to the playoff.

Inst got the prefect start when following good work from Fergal Lynch, Zac Finlay and Ross McCurry lock Paddy Marks went under the posts with Fraser Wright converting.

Full-back Conor Cooney missed a simple penalty for the visitors before Clonmel levelled with a converted try when after a sustained period of pressure by the forwards flanker Darragh Foley crashed over.

Clonmel took the lead on 28 minutes when following a slick handling move winger Greg Carroll exploited a gap in the Inst midfield to go under the posts and Cooney converted.

Wright scored the home side’s second try with a superb solo effort but he missed the conversion meaning Inst trailed 14-12 at the interval.

Andrew Keane gave Inst the lead two minutes after the restart with a penalty but Clonmel were back in front five minutes later with a Cooney penalty.

Scrum-half Matthew Keane restored Inst’s lead with the home side’s third try, they showed great patience in the 22 before the pivot darted through a gap for a converted touchdown.

A poor clearance in defence gifted Clonmel their third try, Carroll won a swirling kick in the air made a line break before putting replacement Danny Lyons under the posts and Cooney converted.

Inst hit the front again when after a series of forward drives front rower Josh Cregan barged over.

The home side pressed the self destruct button when they over throw a lineout allowing Clonmel flanker Stephen Pyke to go over and the visitors wrapped it up with a late Brian Condon touch down.

Inst: R Martin, Z Finlay, B Scott, D Scott, M Kilpatrick, F Wright, M Keane, F Lynch, G Baxter, A Whitten, P Marks, S Folla, R Whitten, P Bell, R McCurry

Reps: J Cregan, C Gallagher, J Le Broy, A Keane, M Hart

Clonmel: C Cooney, G Carroll, L Hogan, B Condon, D Lonergan, D Cadogan, A Sheenan, B Lawlor, G Mulcahy, P Keating, M Barry, R Crosse, S Pyke, D Foley, K Melbourne

Reps: J Keane, T Cantwell, B Lonergan, D Cass, D Lyons, B O’Kelly