Leinster beat Ulster at Kingspan Stadium

Ulster's Dan Tuohy on the charge against Leinster
Ulster's Dan Tuohy on the charge against Leinster

Ulster 21 Leinster 24

Leinster made a bright start and were rewarded in the fifth minute with the game’s opening try.

Prop Jamie Hagan punched a hole in the home defence his front row colleague Peter Dooley drove close to the line before the ball was spun to the left wing for Byrne.

Paul Marshall brought the home crowd to its feet with Ulster’s opening score when from a quick tap penalty he caught the Leinster defence napping and held off two tackles to go over.

Centre Luke Marshall extended Ulster’s lead two minutes later when he picked up a loose ball on the 10 metre line and avoided some weak tackling in the visitors defence to go all the way over and Humphreys conversion gave the home side a 14-5 lead at the break.

Leinster hit back two minutes after the restart when newly capped Ireland flanker Jack Conan barged over from close range.

The turning point of the game came when Stephen Mulholland was sinned binned on 44 minutes.

Leinster took immediate, they kicked the penalty to the corner and from the resulting lineout Daniel Leavy was driven over and the returning Isa Nacewa added the conversion.

Leinster got their second try while Ulster were down to 14 men seven minutes later.

Again they went to the corner from a penalty and this time it was Bryan Byrne that was propelled over the line and Nacewa converted.

Ulster had the final word when Ireland U20 centre Sam Arnold scored in the last minute and out half Sam Windsor converted.

Ulster: J Owens, C Gilroy, D Cave, L Marshall, P Nelson, I Humphreys, P Marshall,R Murphy, R Herring (Capt) W Herbst, P Browne, F Van der Merwe, C Ross, S Reidy, R Diack.

Replacements:A Warwick, J Andrew, R Lutton for Herbst, B Ross, A O’Connor, D Tuohy, C Joyce, F Taggart, W Faloon, S Mullholland,P Rowley, D Shanahan, S Windsor, J Stockdale, S McCloskey, S Arnold, L Ludik, M Best.

Leinster: B Dardis, D Fanning, B Te’o, N Reid, A Byrne,C Marsh L McGrath P Dooley J Tracy, J Hagan T Beirne, T Denton, D Ryan (capt), J van der Flier T Ryan

Replacements: A Dundon, J Loughman, R Burke-Flynn, G Thornbury, P Timmins, N McCarthy, S Crobsie, G Ringrose, B Byrne, E Byrne, R Molony, M McCarthy, D Leavy, J Conan, R Byrne, M McGrath C O’Shea I Nacewa

Referee: A Brace