PROVINCIAL: Darren Cave and Dan Tuohy feature in Ulster friendly against Leinster

d'Ireland's Darren Cave playing against Wales
d'Ireland's Darren Cave playing against Wales

Ulster Head Coach, Neil Doak, has named an extended panel of 33 players for Friday evening’s pre-season game against Leinster at Kingspan Stadium (kick off 7:30pm).

New signing Peter Browne starts in the second row and will play his first game for Ulster.

Sam Windsor and Paul Rowley, who also joined in the summer, are named as replacements, as are Ballymena’s Stephen Mulholland, who plays in the back row, and centre Mark Best of Belfast Harlequins. All four are also set to represent the province for the first time.

The team features a mix of youth and experience with established first-team players such as Darren Cave, Craig Gilroy, Wiehahn Herbst and Franco van der Merwe named in the extended squad, alongside exciting young talent such as Jack Owens, Jacob Stockdale and Sam Arnold, who impressed for Ireland in this summer’s Junior World Championship in Italy.

The returning Willie Faloon, who rejoined Ulster in the summer from Connacht is also named as a replacement.

Ulster Head Coach, Neil Doak, believes the match will be a good test for his players ahead of the start of the PRO12 season which is just two weeks away:

“It will be a great opportunity for everyone to get some game time,” he says. “The guys have been working hard for the past eight weeks and the match will give us the chance to see the new signings play and to judge how the young guys that have come in are performing.

“With it being an inter-provincial match and with potentially 14,000 people at the game, it will be a great atmosphere and a good way for us to warm up for the new season.”

Tickets for the game are still available to buy online via and will also be available to purchase on the gate.

Ulster team & replacements to play Leinster, Pre-season friendly, Kingspan Stadium, Friday 21st August (19:30 kick off): (15-9): J Owens, C Gilroy, D Cave, L Marshall, P Nelson, I Humphreys, P Marshall; (1-8): R Murphy, R Herring (Captain) W Herbst, P Browne, F Van der Merwe, C Ross, S Reidy, R Diack. Replacements: A Warwick, J Andrew, R Lutton, B Ross, A O’Connor, D Tuohy, C Joyce, F Taggart, W Faloon, S Mullholland, P Rowley, D Shanahan, S Windsor, J Stockdale, S McCloskey, S Arnold, L Ludik, M Best.