RUGBY: Barbarians and Fiji teams named for glamour friendly at Kingspan Stadium

Fiji's Akapusi Qera
Fiji's Akapusi Qera

British Lions winger Tommy Bowe will start for the Barbarians in his home ground at Kingspan Stadium on Friday night against Fiji.

The management teams of the Barbarians and Fiji have named their match-day squads for the showdown at Kingspan Stadium on Friday 11th November (kick-off 7.35pm).

Fiji train at the Queen's University Sports Complex

Fiji train at the Queen's University Sports Complex

The Ireland and Ulster star will start at outside centre for the Barbarians in a star-speckled side that includes World Cup winning All Blacks Andy Ellis and Ben Franks, fellow New Zealand international Luke Whitelock, 2016 Super Rugby winners Reggie Goodes, Brad Shields and Michael Fatialofa, fleet-footed full-back Melani Nanai and pinpoint kicker Robert du Preez.

Fijian-born Australian international Taqele Naiyaravoro will once again start on the left wing for the Baabaas, following his man of the match performance last week against South Africa at Wembley, where he scored a try himself and set up two more for Ellis and Luke Morahan.

Barbarians coaches Robbie Deans and Will Greenwood have also named a strong bench with Ulster scrum-half Ruan Pienaar poised to come on at his home ground, alongside Australian internationals Toby Smith, Paddy Ryan and Morahan.

Head coach John McKee has named a Fijian squad that features a typical mix of pace, power and flair. Akapusi Qera, who currently plies his trade at Montpellier following seven seasons at Gloucester, will captain the side from Number 8.

Tommy Bowe

Tommy Bowe

Giant try-scoring sensation Nemani Nadolo, who has also been in tremendous form for Montpellier of late, will certainly be one to watch on the left wing, as will new Connacht back-row recruit Naulia Dawai and centre Asaeli Tikoirotuma.

Tickets to the Barbarians v Fiji match at Kingspan Stadium are priced from just £20 for adults and £12 for juniors, and are available to purchase online at or by calling the Ulster Rugby Ticket Office on (028) 9049 3222. Students and Families can save up to 25%!



Ruan Pienaar

Ruan Pienaar

1 Reggie Goodes (Hurricanes)

2 Akker van der Merwe (Lions)

3 Ben Franks (London Irish & New Zealand)

4 Michael Fatialofa (Hurricanes)

The Barbarians train at Kingspan Stadium

The Barbarians train at Kingspan Stadium

5 Sam Carter (Brumbies & Australia)

6 Brad Shields (Hurricanes)

7 Jordan Taufua (Crusaders)

8 Luke Whitelock (Highlanders & New Zealand)

9 Andy Ellis (Crusaders/Kobelco & New Zealand, Captain)

10 Robert du Preez (Stormers)

11 Taqele Naiyaravoro (Waratahs/Panasonic & Australia)

12 Richard Buckman (Highlanders/Panasonic)

13 Tommy Bowe (Ulster & Ireland)

14 Matt Faddes (Highlanders)

15 Melani Nanai (Blues)


16 Andrew Ready (Reds)

17 Toby Smith (Rebels & Australia)

18 Paddy Ryan (Waratahs & Australia)

19 Martin Muller (Lions)

20 Ruan Ackermann (Lions)

21 Ruan Pienaar (Ulster & South Africa)

22 Richard Mo’unga (Crusaders)

23 Luke Morahan (Force & Australia)


1 Campese Ma’afu

2 Jale Sassen

3 Manasa Saulo

4 Api Ratuniyawara

5 Dom Waqaniburotu

6 Nauliu Dawai

7 Mosese Voka

8 Akapusi Qera (Captain)

9 Seru Vularika

10 Ben Volavola

11 Nemani Nadolo

12 Albert Vulivuli

13 Asaeli Tikorotuma

14 Waisea Nayacelevu

15 Benito Masilevu


16 Sunia Koto

17 Joeli Veitayaki

18 Leeroy Atalifo

19 Nemia Soqeta

20 Eramasi Radrodro

21 Nemia Kenatale

22 Metui Talebula

23 Vatemo Ravouvou