RUGBY: Ulster team named for Edinbrugh PRO12 trip

Ulster's Rob Lyttle
Ulster's Rob Lyttle

Les Kiss has named Ulster’s starting team for the Guinness PRO12 tussle against Edinburgh at BT Murrayfield on Friday night (kick off 7.35pm).

Brett Herron, Rob Lyttle and Sam Windsor come in to start in the backline, with Pete Browne and Clive Ross joining the pack for the crucial clash against the Scottish side, currently in 8th place in the PRO12 table.

Hughes Insurance Academy player Aaron Cairns could make his senior debut after being named among the replacements.

The front five is unchanged from the one that faced Munster last weekend; Callum Black, Rob Herring and Wiehahn Herbst occupy the front row spots, while Dan Tuohy and Franco van der Merwe continue in the second row.

Browne will start in the number six jersey for the first time, with Ross named as the other flanker. Sean Reidy, who signed a three-year contract extension earlier this week, will pack down at number 8.

Ruan Pienaar and Herron are selected in the half back positions, while Windsor will earn his third cap when he lines out in midfield alongside Luke Marshall.

Lyttle will be joined in the back three by experienced internationals Tommy Bowe and Charles Piutau.

Cairns is added to the panel following impressive displays for Ballynahinch RFC, while the 24-year-old has also collected two Man of the Match awards for the Ulster A team (sponsored by CD Group) already this season.

John Andrew, Kyle McCall, Andy Warwick, Conor Joyce and Paul Marshall remain on the bench, while Robbie Diack and Jacob Stockdale, who was a late withdrawal from the squad last week, complete the match day 23.

Ulster: C Piutau; T Bowe, L Marshall, S Windsor, R Lyttle, B Herron, R Pienaar; C Black, R Herring (capt), W Herbst, D Tuohy, F van der Merwe, P Browne, C Ross, S Reidy;

Replacements (16-23): J Andrew, K McCall, A Warwick, R Diack, C Joyce, P Marshall, A Cairns, J Stockdale.