Ulster score emphatic victory over Toulouse in European Champions Cup

Ulster's Stuart McCloskey scores against Toulouse.
Ulster's Stuart McCloskey scores against Toulouse.

Ulster 38 v 0 Toulouse

Ulster kept their European dream alive with an empathic bonus point win over French kingpins Toulouse at the Kingspan Stadium.

Toby Flood missed a 15th minute penalty for the visitors but it was Ulster who opened the scoring on 23 minutes.

They kicked a penalty to touch and the forwards punched the hard yards before Robbie Diack put Nick Williams through a hole and the big No8 powered over from close range with Paddy Jackson converting.

Toulouse had scrum half Sebastien Bezy sin binned on 29 minutes and Jackson extended Ulster’s lead from the resulting penalty in front of the posts.

Flood missed a second penalty on 31 minutes and Williams saw yellow four minutes later for taking out winger Vincent Clerc off the ball.

Ulster increased their lead to 17-0 at the break with a try from the final play of the first half.

Andrew Trimble got the ball in space, he chipped the last defender and regathered to touch down with Jackson adding the conversion.

Craig Gilroy should have scored at the start of the second half but he dropped the ball going over the line.

Ulster’s third try did arrive on 46 minutes, Pienaar put in a Crossfield kick and Luke Marshall gathered and dotted down with Jackson converting.

Ulster sealed the bonus point on 54 minutes with an individual try from Stuart McCloskey.

Ulster rounded off the rout eight minutes before the end when flanker Chris Henry was driven over from a maul and Ian Humphreys converted.


L Ludik, A Trimble, L Marshall, S McCloskey, C Gilroy, P Jackson, R Pienaar,

K McCall, R Best, W Herbst, A O’Connor, F van der Merwe, R Diack, C Henry, N Williams


R Herring for Best 56 mins, A Warwick for McCall, R Lutton for Herbst 63 mins, C Ross for van Der Merwe 72 mins, R Wilson for Williams 52 mins, P Marshall for Pienaar 63 mins, I Humphreys for Jackson 63 mins, R Scholes for Trimble 78 mins


C Poitrenaud, V Clerc, G Fickou, T Flood, A Bonneval, L McAlister, S Bézy,

V Kakovin, C Flynn, C Johnston, Y Maestri, J Tekori, Y Camara, T Dusautoir, L Picamoles


J Marchand for Flynn 50 mins, C Baille for Kakovin 50 mins, D Aldegheri for Johnston 50 mins, E Maka for Maestri, G Lamboley for Galan 40mins, G Galan for Picamols 16 mins, J M Doussain for Bezy56 mins, A Palisson for Fickou 63 mins

Ref W Barnes (RFU)