WOMEN’S INTER-PRO: Ulster blown away by impressive Leinster

Ulster wing Amy Davis runs at Leinster fullback Jeamie Deacon
Ulster wing Amy Davis runs at Leinster fullback Jeamie Deacon


Ulster’s inexperience was exploited by a talented Leinster side at Portadown’s Chambers Park on Saturday afternoon, as the girls in blue romped to a comprehensive 38-0 win in the opening match of the Women’s Inter-Provincial series.

Leinster’s set piece scrum and lineout was superior and their backline showed impressive handling with accuracy.

The game was over as a contest by the break, Leinster leading 26-0 after tries from Paula Fitzpatrick, Amy Cotter, Ailis Egan and Elise O’Beirne White with three conversions from the impressive outhalf Nora Stapleton.

When O’Beirne White crossed early in the second half for an unconverted try, it was feared the Leinster girls would put on a massive scoreline.

But credit to the home Province as they dug in the second half became an entertaining affair.

However, Ulster never really threatened to breach the visiting line but did show some positives for joint coaches Philip Doyle and Jarrett Truscott to work on in the weeks ahead.

Leinster scored a late consolation and controversial try after referee Pamela Brown had missed a couple of obvious obstructions - it mattered little to the end result.


1. Fiona O’Brien (Old Belvedere)

2. Sharon Lynch (Old Belvedere)

3. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere, Capt)

4. Ciara Cooney (Railway Union)

5. Orla Fitzsimons (St Mary’s)

6. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere)

7. Jennie Finlay (Railway Union)

8. Paula Fitzpatrick (St Mary’s)

9. Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union)

10. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere)

11. Amy Cotter (Suttonians)

12. Aine Donnelly (Port Dara)

13. Elise O’Beirne White (Old Belvedere)

14. Martina McCarthy (Railway Union)

15. Jeamie Deacon (Blackrock)


16. Ann Marie Rooney (St Mary’s)

17. Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union)

18. Ruth McElroy (Old Belvedere)

19. Mairead Holohan (Blackrock)

20. Susan Fogarty (Railway Union)

21. Meg Parkinson (Carlow)

22. Vikki McGinn (Blackrock)

23. Janice Daly McGrath (Old Belvedere)


1. Ilse Van Staden (Cooke)

2. Lesley Megarity (Cooke, captain)

3. Nikita Armstrong (Cooke)

4. Colette Broome (Queen’s University)

5. Naomi McCullagh (Omagh)

6. Niamh Fitzgerald (Old Belvedere)

7. Imogen Porter (Queen’s University)

8. Lauren Maginnes (Queen’s University)

9. Kathryn Dane (Enniskillen)

10. Jemma Jackson (Queen’s University)

11. Eliza Downey (Cooke)

12. Claire McLaughlin (Queen’s University) 13. Grace Davitt (Cooke) 14. Amy Davis (Cooke) 15. Teah Maguire (Cooke)


16. Jamie Love (City of Derry)

17. Sorcha Chipperfield (Cooke)

18. Shannon Heapes (City of Derry)

19. Amy O’Neill (Blackrock)

20. Noreen Nethercott (Enniskillen)

21. Stacey Sloan (City of Derry)

22. Zoe Templeton (Queen’s University)

23. Peita McAlister (Queen’s University)