Top 10 winners in history of North West 200

We take a look at those riders who have won the most races ever at the North West 200 as the event revs up for its 90th anniversary meeting in 2019.

Sunday, 10th March 2019, 5:00 pm
Updated Sunday, 10th March 2019, 5:05 pm
Alastair Seeley leads the Supersport pack at the 2018 North West 200.
Alastair Seeley leads the Supersport pack at the 2018 North West 200.

Four Northern Ireland riders are in the top six, with Carrickfergus man Alastair Seeley leading the way overall with 24 victories.

Carrickfergus man Alastair Seeley has won more races at the North West 200 than any other rider, with his treble in 2018 giving him 24 victories to date.
Road racing great Robert Dunlop won 15 races at the North West 200 between 1986 and 2006 although there is no doubt the Ballymoney man would have added many more had it not been for a career blighted by injury.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Popular English rider Michael Rutter has chalked up 14 wins at the North West 200 between 1997 and 2017 to hold third place on the all-time winners' list.
Motorcycling legend Joey Dunlop won 13 times at the North West between 1979 and 1988 and remains fourth on the roll of honour despite his last victory being achieved over 30 years ago.
Portadown man Phillip McCallen is at No.5 with 11 North West 200 victories to his name from 1991-1997, including a record five wins in a day in 1992.
New Zealand's Bruce Anstey has a long and chequered history at the North West 200, famously winning on his debut in 2002 and going on to win 10 races in all, with his last victory achieved in 2014.
Tony Rutter had a terrific record at the North West 200, winning nine times between 1973 and 1982.
Welshman Ian Lougher left his mark at the North West 200, where he stood on the top step of the rostrum eight times between 1991 and 2005.
Steve Plater wasted no time in writing his name into the NW200 history books as the English rider won seven races in a short space of time between 2006 and 2009, including five in the Superbike class.
Bangor's Steve Cull, pictured with fellow former works Norton rider Trevor Nation, was a six-time winner at the North West, tied with John McGuinness in 10th place on the all-time list.
Morecambe's John McGuinness is tied with Ulsterman Steve Cull on six victories at the North West, which he achieved between 2000 and 2012.