10th FARMING LIFE AWARDS: The list of winners!

The winners of the 10th annual Farming Life awards, in association with Cranswick Country Foods, were revealed at a gala dinner in the La Mon Hotel and Country Club last night.

By The Newsroom
Friday, 29th October 2021, 7:00 am
Updated Friday, 29th October 2021, 9:14 am

Around 200 people from across the industry came together to acknowledge the efforts of families, businesses and individuals who have made their mark during the past year-and-a-half.

Keynote speaker was Edwin Poots, minister of agriculture, environment and rural affairs.

Farming Life editor Ruth Rodgers said: “This event is all about excellence in farming and we are delighted to be honouring individuals, businesses, families and organisations for exceptional performance in what has been an extremely challenging two years since we last handed out our awards in 2019.”

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Gillian Reid, winner of the Women of Excellence award, with husband Carl, Ian McCluggage, winner of the lifetime achievement award, and wife Julie, with News Letter editor Ben Lowry (right) at the Farming Life awards night at La Mon Hotel

Award winners were as follows:

> Best Impact of the Decade: RUAS, Balmoral Park (sponsored by MSD Animal Health)

> Conservation and Environment Award: The Conservation Volunteers NI (sponsored by RJ Woodland Services)

> Agri Key Workers of the Year: Young Farmers Clubs of Ulster (sponsored by Norbrook)

Editor of the News Letter Ben Lowry pictured with Minister of Agriculture Edwin Poots and DAERA Permanent Secretary Anthony Harbinson at the Farming Life awards.Pic Steven McAuley/McAuley Multimedia

> Agri Food Business of the Year: Cranswick Country Foods (sponsored by Kerry Dairy Consumer Foods)

> Young Farmer of the Year: Emily McGowan, Millbank Farm (sponsored by Asda)

> Agricultural Student of the Year: Dearbhle McLaughlin (sponsored by DAERA)

> Commitment to Training Award: Rural Support (sponsored by LANTRA)

> Nature Friendly Farmer of the Year: Stephen Alexander, Ballyboley Dexters (sponsored by Nature Friendly Farming Network)

> Artisan Producer of the Year: Ballyboley Dexters (sponsored by Farming Life)

> Agricultural Retailer/Store of the Year: Fane Valley Stores (sponsored by Tesco)

> Woman of Excellence in Agriculture: Gillian Reid, Rural Support (sponsored by Farming Life)

> Unsung Hero Award: Basil Bayne (sponsored by AFBI)

> Farmer of the Year: James W Henderson (sponsored by Abbeyautoline)

> Farm Safety Affiliate Award: ABP (sponsored by HSENI)

> Farm Diversification of the Year: Millbank Farm (sponsored by Fibrus Networks Ltd)

> Promotional Agricultural Initiative: Ulster Farmers’ Union – Bank of Ireland Open Farm Weekend (sponsored by Wilson Nesbitt)

> Farming Family of the Year: Millbank Farm (sponsored by KARRO Cookstown)

> Innovation in Agriculture: Animal Health Vision (sponsored by Moy Park)

> Lifetime Achievement Award: Ian McCluggage (sponsored by Cranswick Country Foods)

A message from the Editor:

Thank you for reading this story on our website. While I have your attention, I also have an important request to make of you.

With the coronavirus lockdown having a major impact on many of our advertisers - and consequently the revenue we receive - we are more reliant than ever on you taking out a digital subscription.

Subscribe to newsletter.co.uk and enjoy unlimited access to the best Northern Ireland and UK news and information online and on our app. With a digital subscription, you can read more than 5 articles, see fewer ads, enjoy faster load times, and get access to exclusive newsletters and content. Visit www.newsletter.co.uk/subscriptions now to sign up.

Our journalism costs money and we rely on advertising, print and digital revenues to help to support them. By supporting us, we are able to support you in providing trusted, fact-checked content for this website.

Ben Lowry