Northern Ireland can ‘rise to the occasion’ against Manchester United

International manager Gerard Lyttle is backing his Northern Ireland players to “rise to the occasion” for games this week against Manchester United.

By Patrick Van Dort
Sunday, 24th July 2022, 7:00 am
Updated Sunday, 24th July 2022, 5:41 pm

Lyttle - boss of the under 19s and under 17s - will guide a squad of under 18s over United today and Wednesday as part of the SuperCupNI tournament.

Yesterday’s opening parade in Coleraine featured hundreds of promising players - with former Northern Ireland and Manchester United winger Keith Gillespie helping launch the 2022 STATSports SuperCupNI.

Games will run from today up to Friday’s finals across 17 venues within the Causeway Coast and Glens, Mid and East Antrim and Antrim and Newtownabbey council areas.

Northern Ireland's Gerard Lyttle. Pic by PressEyeLtd.

Northern Ireland and Manchester United meet at Coleraine Showgrounds tonight then Ballymena Showgrounds on Wednesday, both 7.30 kick-offs.

Lyttle’s 21-strong panel helps showcase his under 19s and under 17s set-ups featuring players at clubs across the water plus the Irish League and League of Ireland.

“I see this as an opportunity for players based here to once again show what they can do,” said Lyttle on the official IFA website. “It will be a massive test for the boys against such highly-rated opposition.

“However, I have no doubt the players will rise to the occasion.

“There are U19 Euro qualifiers this autumn and I am sure the players in this squad will want to be part of that squad as well.”

NORTHERN IRELAND: Pierce Charles (Sheffield Wednesday), Kai McClean (Celtic), Conor Barr, Daithi McCallion, Darragh McCloskey (all Derry City), Ordhan McCart and Sean Brown (both Larne), Reece Jordan (Portadown), Bayley McCann (Peterborough United), Jack Patterson (Everton), Lewis Trickett (Accrington Stanley), Caolan Donnelly (Larne), Rio Morgan (Ipswich Town), Aaron Wightman (Glentoran), Sam Glenfield (Fleetwood Town), Eoin Kenny (Dundalk), Conor Scannell (Glenavon), Leon Boyd (Linfield), Reece Evans (Leicester City), Shea Brennan (Larne), Luca Doherty (Derry City).